Sign in to follow this  
Angrod

Driving An Old Mack

Okay so a while ago I mentioned that a friend of mine acquired an old fire engine. At least I think I mentioned it. Anyway I never got around to putting up picks or vids. So I'm going to do that now just for the heck of it.

truck_web_1.jpg

truck_web_3.jpg

And the powerplant:

truck_web_2.jpg

A video of yours truly driving it. Keep in mind I have no stickshift experience and I've never driven anything larger than a Panther platform car before.

Yeah the thing is a beast. And both of us are newbs to this sort of thing. It's a hella lotta fun though.

HAH! Driving big stuff thats a stick is fun. NOT easy! Lol, sticks are easyyyyyyyyyy. Got to drive a school bus that was a stick, holy cow the clutch was so loose that you couldn't engage it in first gear without the entire thing shaking like hell.

Funny watching you try to get those shifts fast lol.

Edited by breeves002

Another video of the Mack. I love the smoke rings on startup!

LOL! That exhaust doesn't look tooooo good! Whats its torque output? Gas milage more than 1mpg? Does it have a siren?

Edited by breeves002

LOL! That exhaust doesn't look tooooo good! Whats its torque output? Gas milage more than 1mpg? Does it have a siren?

The smoke was from incomplete combustion. Diesels do that when it's cold out. The book says it's supposed to make 238 hp and 720 lb/ft. I'm not sure if the engine still makes those numbers though. Fuel mileage is around 10 mpg the way my buddy drives. With me it's more like 3. And there is no siren. The fire department wanted too much for it. So my buddy put an old home security alarm on it. It's rather obnoxious and illegal so he can't use it when he's driving.